My First Month As A Blogger…

bloggerversary

I can’t believe I’ve just reached my one month bloggerversary.  I pressed publish on my first post on 18th January and this will officially be post number ten.  I thought one month in would be a great time to reflect on the last four weeks.  Don’t panic I’m not going to be one of these “let’s celebrate every month type” people.  I just thought, as deciding to start writing was such a big thing for me, it would be useful to have a point of reference I can refer to as my journey continues.  Think of it as somewhat of a “Dear Diary” entry.

Strangely enough I have to confess I’ve found it a little harder than I anticipated.  For the most part I’m confident in what I do and say and I have no problem expressing an opinion.  Starting a blog had been on my radar for a little while.  I’d dabbled in other areas before and it never quite took off but I knew this was an area I am comfortable with and will hopefully thrive in once I find my feet.  All that being said I’m not 100% sure why I am struggling more than I thought I would.  I think a factor maybe I thought, probably somewhat naively, that I’d be a bit better received.  As I already run a plus size group on Facebook and know a lot of lovely PS Bloggers I had some preconceived idea it would be a bit like a Take A Break centre spread.  We’d all be holding hands, skipping in a meadow full of daisies, in slow mo, with the wind blowing through our hair and there would be laughter and merriment and music in the background (ok I know I’m painting a picture here but I obviously slightly exaggerating but you get where I’m going with it) and we’d all run off and live happily ever after.  

The reality has been starkly different to this and I think a lot of it is down to me.  All of a sudden I’ve turned into little nerdy, slightly nervous 12 year old Jelly on the first day of Secondary School, on the outside looking in at the amazing, idealised powerhouses.  I mean I’ve looked up to and adored these girls and now all of a sudden I’m in the same playground as them [insert squeaky bum here literally].  I could feel my confidence slowly draining away and I’m back to being this little imp that needs constant reassurance, praise and to be patted on the head and told I’m doing a good job.  I struggle to even refer to myself as a blogger as I don’t feel that, just ten posts in, I warrant that title but an amazingly lovely and very smart lady said to me “You have a blog, you’re posting on it…you’re definitely a blogger!” and I think perhaps maybe I just need to start believing that.

I think I’ve been doing ok.  My posts seem to be being well received and the feedback I get is mainly positive.  I’ve made five goals I’d like to achieve in the next month:

  • Buy my domain name With payday coming this one will be achieved within the next few days.
  • Move from WordPress.com to WordPress.org I’m still coming to terms the creative side of my blog and I’m thinking the advice to focus on getting a grip with .org and making the jump sooner rather than later is the smart decision.
  • Network more I’ve started taking part in Blogger Chats on Twitter and I’d just like to put myself out there a bit more.
  • Get to grips with scheduling Currently all my post shares are done manually by me so I think this would be really beneficial.
  • Include more plus size related posts This has always been what I wanted to see my blog doing and I’m hoping a few new outfit purchases and a pick up in the weather will help this no end.

I also think it’s healthy to say something about any achievements I’ve had, as well as improvements I’d like to make, as it’s always about the balance.  I’ve had 3 blog tags which has led to some great content, I’ve already been asked about a guest blogger spot on a new blog starting and my most popular post has been my Open Letter To Plus Size Brands About The Cold Shoulder.  Since I’ve started blogging I’ve had 1024 views and 670 visitors and I’m actually quite chuffed with that.

I’d like to finish with a feature that seems to be running through my posts of late…a mushfest.  There are a few ladies I need to thank as they’ve been really helpful and just good old fashioned nice and kind to me and with me, that goes a long way.  Some of them I knew before I started on my journey and some a new to me but either way I owe them some love.

Clare from NeonRainbowBlog Clare and I have been friends for around ten years now and I’m always sad to say, in friendship terms, we’ve never made it to first base (we haven’t actually met in real life) but this does not make her any less my friend.  She’s always got my back and when it comes to blogging she is my sounding board, my first port of call with ideas and usually my first draft looker overer.  She is a great help and support to me and I love her (ok that’s over back to hating on you whoreface).

Zoë from I Knew I Was Next (IKIWN) I’ve followed Zoë’s blog and stalked her on Instagram and Twitter before I started blogging but since I’ve started she has been an ear when I needed one and always ready to offer friendly helpful advice.  When you are starting out this really means a lot so big thanks Zoë.

Kellie from Big Fashionista and my new tweetheart Laura Both ladies are new to me but their support has been unwavering.  In this social media age we live in I think a post like or retweet is like the equivalent of a little cyber hug or pat on the back.  If you are having a proper crappy day a cheeky little retweet can cheer you right up and it’s something that takes like a millisecond to do.  So thank you both so much ladies.  

So how do you think I’m doing? Are you enjoying reading? Is there anything you’d like to see featured?  I will say if you just take one thing from this post then please retweet more.  If you see something and you love it – retweet it.

TTFN
jwtb-signature

This entry was posted in Life, Plus Size, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My First Month As A Blogger…

  1. Absolutely love this post. Your rocking it girl. ❤

    Like

  2. Amber says:

    Great post. I like your monthly goals, I might have to give that ago 🙂

    https://letsgotravel.blog/

    Like

  3. Natalie says:

    I know I’m late, but happy one month! Blogging is weird, I’ve been doing it for 15 years now and seen it change so much! You also read all these posts about what you should and shouldn’t do, I found that the best thing is just be true to yourself! Always here if you ever want to chat about anything!

    Like

Leave a Reply

